College Life · Life Tips · Relationships · Social Life

Day 65 – If We’re Honest

Truth is harder than a lie
The dark seems safer than the light
And everyone has a heart that loves to hide
I’m a mess and so are you
We’ve built walls nobody can get through
Yeah, it may be hard, but the best thing we could ever do, ever do

Bring your brokenness, and I’ll bring mine
‘Cause love can heal what hurt divides
And mercy’s waiting on the other side
If we’re honest
If we’re honest

Don’t pretend to be something that you’re not
Living life afraid of getting caught
There is freedom found when we lay
our secrets down at the cross, at the cross

Bring your brokenness, and I’ll bring mine
‘Cause love can heal what hurt divides
And mercy’s waiting on the other side
If we’re honest
If we’re hones

It would change our lives
It would set us free
It’s what we need to be

Bring your brokenness, and I’ll bring mine
‘Cause love can heal what hurt divides
And mercy’s waiting on the other side
If we’re honest
If we’re hones

*By Francesca Battistelli

 

This song truly makes my heart long for this in my family, friendships, and community as a whole.

Our world is so photoshopped, edited, and hidden that honesty seems extinct, or at very least under many, many layers of smiling faces and perfect social media posts.

Many people think because I am bold and usually speak my mind, that honesty is easy for me. The older I get, the more I realize all of those “honest moments” are describing a leaf in detail, hoping you won’t ask me about the forest. Because the rest of the forest is ugly. The rest of the forest is insecure, goes in and out of seasons of depression, gets lonely in a room full of people, gets so nervous in conflicts that I physically shake for ages after. The rest of the forest hurts so deeply for others that at times I cry myself to sleep over their heavy heart, yet I’m too afraid of being rejected by them to go comfort them in person. The rest of the forest is deeply flawed and full of secrets.

I love the line, “There is freedom found when we lay our secrets down..” I am so often held back because I have secrets no body knows, and I’m afraid of them being known. I’m afraid no one would love me if they truly knew. I’m afraid that I would forever be an outcast if anyone knew. I’ve held onto relationships longer than I should have because of secrets and I’ve denied the joy of friendship with others because of those same secrets. I truly hope we can all learn to let, “love heal what hurt divides,” and accept the, “mercy waiting on the other side.”

I want to be more honest in my relationships, with the whole forest, and not just the detailed leaf.

I want to be vulnerable enough to let people in and share my secrets, even if it means getting rejected and shunned.

I want to be open enough that my friends and family feel free to be open with me too.

May we all be more honest with the parts of our hearts that hurt the most and may we all be more willing to show love and mercy when people trust us with those parts of their hearts.

Day 65.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

