Life Tips · Marriage · Open Letters · Relationships · Thoughts

Day 147 – Open Letter – Marriage

**Well for those of you who saw this yesterday, so sorry, it was not finished! #travelproblems!**

Marriage has clearly been on my mind this week… so here is an open letter to my future husband on marriage…

Dear Future Husband,

I feel silly writing this to you, because I don’t know who you are or if you even exist… but I’m writing it anyway.

First off, hi! Glad you exist if you’re reading this! As a girl I have dreamt about one day being married, about having a husband to call mine and being called someones wife. I’ve dreamt of having children and raising them into positive additions to society, who love Jesus with their whole hearts. I’ve dreamt about growing old together and still kissing when we’re wrinkled and grey! ūüėČ There are so many dreams in my heart… yet isn’t that true for everyone? Doesn’t everyone start their marriages with these dreams? Dreams without actions will never become anything… so here are some actions I hope we take to make these dreams a reality.

I hope we leave each other notes around the house and make our children roll their eyes, even though inside they are receiving incredible amounts of security. I hope¬†we still get excited for each other to come home at the end of the night, when there’s a crying baby, a middle schooler that none of us really know what to do with, or when we’re old and¬†thankful for every last day we have with each other. I hope we never settle for anything but a fantastic adventure, even in the mundane areas of life. I hope we never forget that ice-cream at 2am with frozen peas is always a yes!

Beyond what I dream and what I hope for, I also promise. I promise to never go to bed angry and give Satan a foothold in our relationship. I promise to serve you with humility when the last thing I want is to be nice. I promise to be the best wife and mom I can be, being quick to apologize when needed and forgive without a second thought. I promise to pray for you, our marriage, our children, and whatever seasons/places God calls us to. I promise to love you in all your forms(yes, that’s from The Vow), believing the best is yet to come, and celebrating the little steps in life. I promise to laugh with you, cry with you, and to always fight for us, knowing that at the end of the day¬†all that matters is that we are together, creating a beautiful life, and honoring God through it all.

“I wish for more pause than fast forward,(I Wish You More)” as we soak in every moment God gives us together, treating each¬†other¬†as a gift, not a duty.

This weekend we celebrated the beginning of a love marriage, one we all hope will last a lifetime… and yet these days, that’s not a guarantee.

A wise woman shared words of wisdom on the role of a wife. She was saying how when we are asked what we do in life, being married and loving a spouse never makes the cut. I hope that when people ask me what I do in life my first answer is, “I love (insert your name here).”

May we live out 1 John 4:19 in all we do.

So this is what I mean when I say, “I love you.”

Always yours,

AnnaliesaJoy

 

Leave a Reply

