#Inspiration · Life Tips · Relationships · Thoughts

Day 164 – An Irreplaceable Role

If you were in Christian circles about 10 years ago, and a female, chances are that you heard about a book called, Captivating by John and Staci Eldridge.

In that book it talks about many aspects of being a woman, one of which they claim is a need for women to, “play an irreplaceable role in a grand adventure.” As a middle schooler that sounded cool, but at the end of the day, it just didn’t seem logical that every female in life was totally irreplaceable…

Fast forward from middle school to now.

While traveling last week my parents mentioned a couple times that the trip couldn’t have happened without me. It was nice to hear but I just went on thinking, they would have made it work either way.

Then this morning it clicked.

Male or female, we are made to “play an irreplaceable role” in OUR story. Not every story, not the whole world, just our piece of the story God is unfolding in the world.

There are many aspects of the book, Captivating, that I resonated with, others I didn’t totally  agree with, but that one phrase has stayed with me, and it finally clicked.

You and I are the only ones who can be us. Totally and completely ourselves. The world would be missing a piece if we were not here.

So on the trip we were on, yes I was like a live in nanny, but beyond that I was a giggle in the back seat, attempting to bring joy into a boring drive. Beyond a chaperone to the pool, I was a sister to play with. In the midst of life, my role was to be who God has created me to be.

You and I bring a unique perspective to life. It would be missing if we were not here.

You and I were created with dreams and desires for specific purposes to live out in life. We are the only ones to bring those exact dreams, desires, and abilities to life.

You and I are the only ones who can speak into the lives of our families and friends in our specific relationships and do life with them.

We all, “play and irreplaceable role” in our own lives, which together make up a society and world.

May we take hold of our roles in life with reverence and enjoy the ride!

You are irreplaceable and so am I.

I hope we beautifully live out that incredible reality!

 

 

Leave a Reply

