#Inspiration · God · Thoughts

Day 196 – Death To Life

I was listening to a few sermons this last week, yes, I’m one of those odd people that listens to sermons in their free time. One of them was talking about the whole idea of death to life at the moment of salvation. I think all too often we are stuck in this idea that we bring all of our baggage to God and then He helps us fix it all. Too often salvation is understood as the way to become a better person or to be more successful in life. It’s less often spoken about from the standpoint of utter spiritual death coming to life, thus “born again” is the term used.

As I think about my own spiritual journey, it took years to understand the whole death to life reality. When I was 4 years old I, “Prayed the prayer” and truly understood I didn’t want to go to Hell and therefore needed a savior. What I didn’t understand is that salvation goes way beyond the afterlife, it invades every aspect of life. True conversion is not exchanging a messed up person for a slightly more positive person, but  rather exchanging a dead person for one who is alive!

I think it we all truly understood that we would live our lives differently.

I love the song lyrics… “And the things of earth will grow strangely dim, in the light of his glory and grace.”

Are the things of earth growing dim in your lives?

Is the light of His glory and grace evident?

Have you truly come from death to life?

If the church just goes through the motions, if Christians are just “good people”, we and the world are missing out. This is suppose to be a dynamic relationship with the creator of the universe who’s image we are created in and who knows us to the core of who we are. I don’t know about you, but I am in awe of that reality.

Leave a Reply

