#Recipes · Food

Day 237 – Whatever’s in the fridge scones!

The other day I went to make scones, because who doesn’t make scones at 9pm when they are avoiding life? 😉 Anyway! I went to make them and I was out of milk, so I looked up recipes that didn’t need milk and I got one that used sour cream, which worked great, because I found some of that in the fridge the other day!

I tried the recipe and it has revolutionized scones for me! They were incredible and then I took the incredible scones and decided to fill them with a cocoa buttercream that I had leftover from earlier in the week. Yes, they were as good as they sound!

Here is the recipe for you!

Scones:

2 1/ 2 Cups flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter

1 cup sour cream (or yoghurt works too!)

1 egg

1/8-1/4 cup sugar (depending on how sweet you want them)

Mix it all together and bake at 350F/180C for 12-15 minutes.

Buttercream frosting:

1/2 cup butter

1/4 cup cocoa

1/4 cup milk

3 1/2 cup powdered sugar

2 tsp. vanilla (or 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp almond)

Mix all of the ingredients  until fluffy, I like to combine everything except for the powdered sugar first, then whisk in the sugar.

Next time life needs a little sweetening up, give these a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

