College Life · Food · Uncategorized

Day 5

columbusparkramenshop-30-940x500

Eat.

The college diet is usually known to consist of Ramen, quick cook Udon, or Mac and Cheese.

This year my goal is to change that and create meals that are healthy, quick, and budget friendly.

I am doing this through freezer meals. The first Saturday of every month will now be my freezer meal day. Generally Saturday mornings are my farmer’s market times where I stock up on fresh flowers, veggies, and the occasional amazing home made peach pie! However, the first Saturday of every month, I will now be reserving for freezer meals, after a quick visit to the farmer’s market, of course!

I made a list earlier this month of meals I like and how to make them healthy. Example: Alfredo is delicious, however it is generally low on protein and vegetables and quick Alfredo sauce is usually full of chemicals and preservatives. This conclusion resulted in creating a home made cheese sauce, adding chicken, carrots, and broccoli to the pasta in order to create a healthy version of one of my favorite meals.

Recipe:

1 box of your favorite pasta, cooked

1 chicken breast, boiled and shredded

1 head of broccoli, cooked

4 large carrots, diced or sliced and cooked

Cheese sauce (1 cup parmesan, 1 cup mozzarella, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup cream, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic. Simmer until creamy)

Add all of those ingredients together, simmer them until they are well incorporated (about 10 minutes), then separate them into portioned size glass containers (I use pyrex with lids,  you can get in a set of 20 at Sam’s), let the pasta cool, place the containers in freezer bags, and freeze them in an organized stack in your freezer!

There you have about a week of portioned dinners that you can come home, place in the oven (if you froze them in glass containers), and you have a home made, healthy meal!

I like making about 10 different meals for the month, just to help with variety.

What are some of your favorite quick dinners?

5 days down, 360 days to go!

Leave a comment